Classification Of Nakshtra

Classification Of Nakshtra
Nakshatras      Just like the Rashis, the Nakshatras also break up the zodiac into equally spaced segments. There are 27 Nakshatras, each taking up 13'20". The Nakshatras are also called Lunar mansions, as the Nakshatra position of the Moon is an important use of Nakshatras. Each Nakshatra has a symbol, various attributes, and a planetary ruler.      In order to clarify the use of Nakshatras, we will first explain the major differences between the use of Rashis and Nakshtras.
 These are the 27 nakshatras and their dasha lords:    
1. Ashwini
2. Bharani
3. Krittika
4. Rohini
5. Mrigashira
6. Ardra
7. Punarvasu
8. Pusya
9. Ashlesha
10. Magha
11. Poorva Phalguni
12. Uttara Phalguni
13. Hasta
14. Chitra
15. Swati
16. Vishaka
17. Anuradha
18. Jyestha
19. Moola
20. Poorvashadha
21. Uttarashadha
22. Shravana
23. Dhanishta
24. Shatabisha
25. Poorvabhadrapada
26. Uttarabhadrapada
27. Revati

For the purpose of Muhurta, the Brihat Samhita classifies the Nakshatras in some broad groups that characterize their nature. Each group is favorable for certain types of events, and these events give you a fairly good picture of the quality of that group:

Dhruva (fixed) Nakshatras :  

 The three Uttaras and Rohini are called Dhruva or Fixed.
To be used for coronations, expiatory rituals, planting of trees, laying the foundation of towns, commencement of meritorious deeds, sowing seeds and other permanent things.

Tikshna/Daruna (dreadful):   

  Mula, Ardra, Jyestha and Ashlesha.
These are good for success in attacks, incantations, raising of goblins, imprisonment of others, murder, separation of friends and alliance with kings and the like. So if you care for raising a goblin, wait until the Moon is in one of those nakshatras.

Ugra (Fierce)     

The three Purvas (Purvaphalguni, Purvasadha and Purvabhadrapada), Bharani and Magha.
 They are to be used with success in ruining enemies, destruction, deceit, imprisoning, poisoning, arson, striking with weapons and murders and the like.

Ksipra (Swift)     

Hasta, Ashwini, and Pushya (Abhijit too) They are beneficial for trade, sensual sports, education, decorations (or making ornaments), fine arts, skilled labor (like carpentry, smithy etc.), medical treatment, journey and the like (taking or giving loan etc.).

Mridu (Tender)     

Anuradha, Chitra, Revati and Mrigasira.
They are used with advantage in making friends, sexual union, use of garments and ornaments, performance of auspicious ceremonies (like marriage, Upanayana and Cudakarana) and singing.

Mridutikshna/ Sadharana (Tender-Dreadful)     

Krittika and Vishaka.These yield mixed results.

Post a Comment

Featured Post

Importence Of Muhurta In Vedic Astrology

Definition as in Oxford Dictionary: An auspicious time for an enterprise to begin or for a ceremony to take place From Sanskrit muhū...

most read posts in the blog

Astro Windows SEO - Widget